New Year, New Movies #17: Play Ball!

A secret: I bloody LOVE sports movies. Especially American sport. I don’t understand how American football works, I’m pretty sure baseball is just glorified rounders, and I know how you play basketball but I’m more of a netball girl, myself. Still, give me a movie about any of these and there’s a 99 percent chance that I will very much love what I’m watching.

January 22, 2016

21. Draft Day, 2014.
image

I’ve been moving office, and by this afternoon I was pretty much at the end of my rope: knackered, sore, and doing that ‘ochwwwhhh’ thing that old people do every time I stood up, sat down, blinked…

So this looked like an easy watch. After pausing it 2 minutes in to ask a mate what the Draft actually was, that was it. Not much sport getting played, but back room negotiations, gripping story (slightly predictable), cracking cast (has anyone noticed that Jennifer Garner is pretty much fantastic in everything?). It even has a surprise Sam Elliott (the best kind of Sam Elliott). Nice visuals too. Yes yes yes. 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

