New Year, New TV Shows: Once Upon A Time

once-upon-a-time-banner

I was about to be amazed at having watched an entire season of this in a month, but then I realised that I pounded the first 3 seasons of True Blood in about 2.5 weeks a couple of years ago, so 26 eps over 31 days wasn’t too bad really. It was quite nice to dip in and out when I couldn’t face watching movies, or just wanted to watch something short.

It’s a simple enough premise – it takes place in the fictional seaside town of Storybrooke, Maine, whose residents are characters from various fairy tales transported to the “real world” town and robbed of their real memories by a powerful curse [Thank you, Wikipedia] – and the first season deals with the arrival of an outsider who can supposedly break the curse.

I liked this programme – not so highbrow that you have to really concentrate on it, but engaging enough to want to know what’s going to happen.

Casting is generally good – I mentioned before about Jamie Dornan and Robert Carlyle (yes, still having confusing thoughts about him and his black eyeshadow) – although two of the leads, Ginnifer Goodwin and Josh Dallas, kind of make me want to put my head through a window. Then again, they’re playing Snow White and Prince Charming, and we know I have the heart and soul of a blackened turnip so I was never really going to like them.

I have a theory that most US TV shows don’t expect to make it past the first season (I still love you and miss you, Firefly) so they throw all their best ideas at the first 26 episodes. I’ll be interested to see how this one unfolds.

Leave a Reply

