Pinch, Punch, First of the Month…

… And I have to complete a new challenge for February.

Well, I don’t have to, but I promised myself that this year I’d do something new every month. I have the attention span of a gnat, and a hideously low boredom threshold, but figured actually, I might just about be able to cope with doing something for 4 weeks. It gives me a deadline to work to and it means I won’t do something zealously for 5 weeks and then quit. Which is what happens every time I start the Couch to 5k running programme. Which I’ll attempt again this year (just as soon as the weather picks up).

After watching all of those new movies I figured I should probably continue to expand my horizons, and maybe crack open a book.

hammy_lg

That makes me sound like a philistine. I love reading, but over the last few years I haven’t been able to concentrate on much. I go to the library with great intentions to pick up some Donna Tartt or Hilary Mantel, and end up walking out with Marian Keyes and Stephen King. They’re authors I like a lot, but they don’t often appear on “100 Books to Read Before You Die” lists.

I’ve always struggled with the Classics – when we did Turn of the Screw at college it took me six attempts to make it past page 4 without falling asleep – so I figured I’d stick a pin in a list and see what I come up with.

In the meantime though, here’s one of my favourite literary songs…

Leave a Reply

