NYNM#2: No woman can truly love a man who listens to Phil Collins.

So. 31 days, 31 films. What to kick off with?

1. Sing Street (2016)

wp-1483428138602.jpg

Sing Street came out last year, my mate saw it on a plane and just would not shut up about it afterwards. Everytime I mused ‘what shall I watch?’ the answer was always bloody Sing Street. And because I’m stubborn and hate being told I have to watch/see/do something I put my fingers in my ears and ignored her. Also the trailer kept playing on Spotify and it sounded like a shite jukebox musical.

So fast forward to New Years Day. I need something light and breezy to ease myself into 2017, and up this pops on Netflix.

Dublin, 1985. Teenager Conor starts a band to impress a girl, while his family fall apart. Hilarity ensues.

It’s kind of a New Romantic Commitments, but with original songs in it. It’s sweet. Not the earth shattering cinematic masterpiece I’d been led to believe it would be, but better than I was expecting. I really liked the music side of it but the characters (or maybe the acting) wasn’t always great.

Also I’m not sure writer/director John Carney likes or knows how to write women: of the two female characters with any notable dialogue here, one is a capricious quasi manic pixie dream girl who treats the hero like dirt, the other is an adulterous wife. In his second film Begin Again (which I liked), there were 3 women- a manic pixie dream girl, a slutty teen, and an adulterous wife. I’m not saying this is intentional, but jeez John, maybe make sure your next film passes the Bechdel test. 7/10.

Leave a Reply

