NYNM#2: Not Today, Satan! Not Today!

I bloody love RuPaul’s Drag Race. I’m a late convert, and I’ve missed a couple of seasons, but it’s perfect hangover TV, perfect Sunday-night-don’t-want-to-go-work-tomorrow TV, perfect just-been-dumped TV…. Look, it’s just a really good show, OK?

One of my favourite Queens is Bianca Del Rio, who won Season 6 and was just glorious. Snarky, hilarious and also so kind when she thought no one was looking (aside from all the cameras, obviously). So when I discovered last year that she was making a film, then I got all kinds of excited.

3. Hurricane Bianca (2016)

maxresdefault

A teacher named Richard moves from New York to small-town Texas to work at a new school. Shortly after this, he’s outed and is consequently fired, which is legal under Texas state law. To get revenge on the people that were hateful to him, he returns as Bianca Del Rio, his drag persona, and spreads his hate and causes mayhem to those that were mean to him. Hilarity ensues.

If I’m honest, this could have been a movie about trifle and I would have enjoyed it. Perhaps you need to be a Drag Race fan to ‘get’ some of it, but there’s no denying it’s a lot of fun. Puerile, bitchy, ridiculous fun. 8.5/10 (loses half a point for having Alan Cumming in it for less than 2 minutes. I want to stroke his lovely face).

 

Leave a Reply

