NYNM#2: Malkovich. Malkovich malkovich. Malkovich?

There’s a brilliant poem by Norman Silver that I read at school called ‘Two Boyfriends’. I can’t remember the exact words but the gist is ‘One buys me roses every day/ and worships the ground I walk on/ The other rides a Kawasaki’. This could describe my flatmates. One is a bouncy puppy of a man who doesn’t make a decision in his life without consulting his mother, can’t cook, and likes fluffy rom-coms; the other one is Italian.

Guess which one I watched this with?

5. Anomalisa (2015)

anomalisa_ver4

A lonely customer service expert perceives everyone as identical until he meets a unique woman in a Cincinnati hotel. Hilarity ensues.

This continually cropped up on lists as one of the best films of 2016, and is a quite stunning stop-motion tangle of angst and imperfection and being lonely.

Charlie Kaufman is an amazing writer (he did Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind). Sometimes I think I’d like to sit down with him and have him sort my life out – there’s dialogue in here that I wish I’d used in past arguments – and this is a fascinating story… it’s essentially navel-gazing, a more introspective offshoot of Being John Malkovich maybe, and funnier than I was expecting.

A couple of downsides: it felt too long, David Thewlis’ voice (no really), but on the whole very good. 8/10 (half a mark added for the most realistic stop-motion sex scene since Team America).

Leave a Reply

