NYNM#2: Bananas Are Not The Only Fruit

Oh I hate Sunday nights. I left school far too long ago but I still get that sick feeling on a Sunday night when I think about coming back to work, exactly the same feeling when I remembered that I had Double Physics first thing on a Monday.

When I left college I’d still get that feeling but I used to bury it in going out for pints on a Sunday night, but that was way back when my hangovers only lasted until I’d had a shower and a cup of coffee. Nowadays I battle The Fear by drinking mint tea and watching a funny movie. I’m so rock n roll.

8. Bananas (1971)

bananas_us2

When a bumbling New Yorker is dumped by his activist girlfriend, he travels to a tiny Latin American nation and becomes involved in its latest rebellion. Hilarity ensues.

As I said last year, I’ve been working through the Woodmeister’s back catalogue slowly but surely for a number of years. I particularly like his comedies from the early 70s, the Chaplinesque clown character who’s a total coward yet always emerges the hero.

Bananas is no different but is no worse for it. I liked it – some cracking one liners and a sense of absurdity that is often missing from his later, more reflective films. If I had a criticism it would be that it tends to play like a series of sketches loosely forming a narrative which sometimes gives it a bit of a Benny Hill air, but I’d take 2 hours of that over Double Physics any day of the week. 7/10.

 

Leave a Reply

