NYNM#2: Robot & Oops

I really need to start reading synopses if I’m watching films during times of high emotional stress. Especially when I’ve waited 5 years to watch the damn thing.

9. Robot and Frank (2012)

wp-1484036093551.jpg

Set in the near future, it focuses on Frank Weld, an aging jewel thief, whose son buys him a domestic robot. Resistant at first, Frank warms up to the robot when he realizes he can use it to restart his career as a cat burglar. Hilarity ensues.

This is such a gorgeous film. Quirky, innovative, funny. Frank Langella is a wonderful actor (and I highly recommend his memoir ‘Dropped Names: Famous Men and Women As I Knew’) and he’s great in this. And this is where the problem lay: the character he’s playing is suffering from dementia. This really struck a chord with me due to some ongoing family issues and so I was left sobbing for half an hour after it ended.

It’s poignant, wry and very lovely, and I enjoyed it very much. 9/10.

Leave a Reply

