NYNM#2: Well, That’s a Worry

Am I a sociopath, or just a film wanker?

22. Natural Born Killers (1994)

nbklarge1

Two victims of traumatized childhoods become lovers and psychopathic serial murderers irresponsibly glorified by the mass media. Hilarity ensues.

When I was growing up my parents would pretty much let me watch anything. We’d watch films with them on video that were massively inappropriate (I saw Police Academy when I was 8, for gods sake) but weirdly, there were certain things they’d draw a line on.

I’m still not sure if I wasn’t allowed to watch Natural Born Killers when it came out because of the controversies surrounding it or because my mum really hates Oliver Stone, but either way, ‘it wasn’t coming into the house’. Other things that never came into the house included Eastenders (dad), Parsnips (dad) and The Films of Richard Gere (mum). Whatever. This passed me by. I read Tarantino’s original script when I went to college but never saw the film.

But what a film. It’s demented, horrible, violent, trippy and also outstanding. Visionary. It’s scary when you laugh at people being killed. I like to think it’s because of the film student thing and not because I have some deep-seated emotional issues that mean I shouldn’t be allowed to keep pets. 7/10.

Leave a Reply

