NYNM#4: Overstretched, overwhelmed, overboard

Who you calling a drama queen?

30. Overboard (2018)

After a spoiled, wealthy yacht owner is thrown overboard and loses his memory, a mistreated employee convinces him that he is her working-class husband.

This week has been a bit….tricky. Time is tight and emotions are high. If I had a choice I would make a duvet fort and binge watch Queer Eye until the Fab 5 manifested in my room to make it all better. But we soldier on. Day 30, people! I had intended to watch something slightly more highbrow, but my brain can’t cope. So I watched Overboard instead.

Is it better than the original? Debateable. There’s a distinct lack of 80s Kurt Russell (woof). But it’s by no means the worst film I’ve watched this month: sweet enough, cute casting, some callbacks to the original that made me go ‘hmm’ in an appreciative way (you know, like people do when they’re watching Shakespeare and they understand a clever line).

You could do worse. Don’t get me wrong, you could do a shit ton better, but you won’t feel grubby after this.

6/10.

Leave a comment